Canada’s Open Education Initiatives

Open education is growing across Canada. Canada OER, a national working group comprised of OER projects and interested  institutions from provinces and territories across the country, meet bimonthly to share information and promote open education. For more information about this group, email opentext@bccampus.ca

For open education information specific to your province, please contact one of the following groups. For general information related to Canada, see list of federal organizations at the bottom.

CONTACT
PROVINCIAL
Alberta

eCampus Alberta

closing March 31, 2017

Tricia Donovan, Executive Director (tricia.donovan@ecampusalberta.ca)
 Alberta OER  Dr. Janet Welch, Assistant Dean, Technologies in Education, Faculty of Education, University of Alberta (jewelch@ualberta.ca)
Manitoba
Campus Manitoba Dave Neale, Executive Director (nealed@campusmanitoba.com)
Kathleen Fehr, Special Projects Coordinator (fehrk@campusmanitoba.com)
New Brunswick
Crandall University Adam Stewart (adam.stewart@crandallu.ca)
Ontario
eCampus Ontario Lena Patterson, Operations Director (lpatterson@ecampusontario.ca)
Prince Edward Island
University of Prince Edward Island

Donald Moses, Librarian (dmoses@upei.ca)

Open Access

Saskatchewan
University of Regina Bruce Walsh, Director, University of Regina Press (bruce.walsh@uregina.ca)
University of Saskatchewan

Nancy Turner, Director, Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching Effectiveness (nancy.turner@usask.ca)

Read about adoptions at U.Sask.

Yukon
Yukon College Aline Goncalves, InfoLit/Reference Librarian (agoncalves@yukoncollege.yk.ca)
FEDERAL
Creative Commons Canada Kelsey Wiens, Public Lead (kelsey@uncommonwomen.org)
SPARC Brady Yano, Assistant Director of Open Education,Vancouver, BC (brady@sparcopen.org)