Education in Canada is exclusively a provincial or territorial responsibility: we do not have a formal federal presence to connect open activities on a national level. At BCcampus, we have created strong and successful relationships with groups in other regions to propel the use of open across the country, benefiting students from Victoria to St. John’s, and everywhere in between.

For information about open education across Canada, see the Post-Secondary Directory.

Join the open community

To facilitate and enable the discussion across Canada, we initiated a national working group. Canada OER is comprised of participants from open education initiatives across the country, meeting bi-monthly to share information and promote open education. The goal of the group is to improve access to higher education for students in Canada. 

To join the Canada OER Group or to let us know of an open education project happening in your institution, please contact us at opentext@bccampus.ca.

If you need information about the open education initiatives taking place in your province, the following contacts may be able to point you in the right direction:

 

Provincial Open Education Initiatives in Canada
PROVINCE GROUP CONTACT
Alberta Alberta OER albertaoer@googlegroups.com
Manitoba Campus Manitoba Carley McDougall, Special Projects Coordinator (mcdougallc@campusmanitoba.ca)
Ontario eCampusOntario Lena Patterson, Senior Director, Programs and Stakeholder Relations (lpatterson@ecampusontario.ca)
Prince Edward Island University of Prince Edward Island

Donald Moses, Librarian (dmoses@upei.ca)

Open Access at UPEI

Quebec Concordia University Chloe Lei, Open Educational Resources Librarian
(chloe.lei@concordia.ca)
Saskatchewan University of Regina

Bruce Walsh, Director, University of Regina Press (bruce.walsh@uregina.ca)

URegina Open Textbooks

Saskatchewan University of Saskatchewan

Heather Ross, Educational Developer, Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning (heather.ross@usask.ca)

Open Educational Practices at U.Sask

Yukon Yukon College

Aline Goncalves, InfoLit/Reference Librarian (agoncalves@yukoncollege.yk.ca)

Open Educational Resources at Yukon College